A guide to our latest CISA course

Person holding computer

This month is a big deal at ACI Learning because one of our biggest upcoming course releases marries two of our favorite topics – audit and technology: The Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) certification is a globally recognized credential offered by ISACA (Information Systems Audit and Control Association). It is designed for professionals in the field of information systems auditing, control, and assurance. This month, ACI Learning will release a CISA course led by our own edutainer Lauren Deal and Chris Ward.

Topics covered include:

Information system auditing process

This is the first of five courses that help prepare you for the ISACA Certified Information Systems Audit Certification. In this course, you will learn about the fundamentals of an IS audit including planning, executing and improving the audit process. Some areas of concentration will be data analytics, roles and responsibilities, and control environments.


  • IS auditing planning
  • IS auditing execution
  • Reporting and communications

Governance and management of IT


  • IT governance
  • IT management

Information Systems Acquisition, Development and Implementation


  • IS acquisition and development
  • IS implementation

Information Systems Operations and Business Resiliency


  • Information systems operations
  • Business resilience

Protection of Information Assets


  • Information asset security and control
  • Networks, data encryption and techniques

Here is everything you need to know about the CISA certification:

  1. Certification Purpose: The Certified Information Systems Auditor® (CISA®) is the standard of achievement for those who audit, control, monitor and assess an organization’s IT and business systems. Recommended for mid-career professionals looking to verify ability to apply a risk-based approach to planning, executing and reporting on audit engagements.

  2. Eligibility Requirements: To be eligible for the CISA certification, candidates must have a minimum of five years of professional work experience in information systems auditing, control, or security. However, there are some exceptions and substitutions that can reduce the required experience.

  3. Exam Format: The CISA exam consists of multiple-choice questions, and it covers five domains:

  • Domain 1: Information Systems Auditing Process
  • Domain 2: Governance and Management of IT
  • Domain 3: Information Systems Acquisition, Development, and Implementation
  • Domain 4: Information Systems Operations and Business Resilience
  • Domain 5: Protection of information assets

The exam is typically offered three times a year and is available in multiple languages. It lasts about four hours, with 150 multiple choice questions. It costs $575 for ISACA members and $760 for non-members (United States pricing).

  1. Passing Score - The CISA exam is scored on a scale of 200 to 800 points. A candidate must score a minimum of 450 to pass the exam.

  2. Continuing Professional Education (CPE) - CISA-certified professionals are required to maintain their certification through ongoing education. This involves earning a specified number of CPE credits each year to stay current with developments in the field.

  3. Benefits of CISA Certification:

  • Career advancement: CISA certification can open doors to higher-paying roles in information systems auditing, governance, and cybersecurity.
  • Global recognition: It is widely recognized and respected by employers and organizations worldwide.
  • Expertise: CISA-certified professionals possess the knowledge and skills to assess an organization's IT systems and provide recommendations for improvement.
  • Competitive advantage: Holding a CISA certification can give you a competitive edge in the job market.
  1. Job Opportunities: CISA-certified individuals can pursue careers in various roles, including:
  • Information Systems Auditor
  • IT Auditor
  • Security Consultant
  • Compliance Analyst
  • Risk Manager
  • Information Security Manager
  1. CISA Exam Preparation: Preparing for the CISA exam usually involves self-study using official ISACA resources, attending training courses, and utilizing practice exams. ISACA provides study materials and official review courses to help candidates prepare.

  2. Recertification: CISA certification is valid for three years. To maintain certification, individuals must accumulate a minimum of 120 CPE hours during each three-year certification period.

  3. ISACA Membership: - ISACA membership is not required to take the CISA exam, but it can provide additional benefits such as access to exclusive resources, networking opportunities, and discounts on exam fees and study materials.

ACI Learning



Learning areas